Learning words

Members help members on grammar, vocab, pronunciation...

Moderator: EC

letsjam
Rising Star
Rising Star

Learning words

Post by letsjam »

Hello guys. Pls tell me what is the best way to learn english words? How do u learn 'em? Maybe with texts or u just write them down? I have a good memory, but it's difficult for me to learn words :( I forget them very quickly. Give me any advice pls. Thank you for replying.
Dixie
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Post by Dixie »

I'm still learning, especially from TV or books. I think we learn faster when we find the new words in context. You don't need a translation or explanation, because from the context you can guess their meaning. I retain those new words really fast this way and learn how to apply them to daily-life English because apart from learning them you also learn what type of context you can use them in.
letsjam
Rising Star
Rising Star

Post by letsjam »

Hello Dixie, thank you so much for your advice. Take care. POWER ON!! :P
Virgil

The best way to learn English words.

Post by Virgil »

Dear letsjam,

Here are some tips for you.

- Try to read as much as possible. Reading is primordial to raise your vocabulary. Read books, news and etc. It's obvious that you will come across a thousand words that you don't know yet. When it comes to reading a book, for instance, try not to waste your time looking up words in the dictionary at the moment of your reading, for this will spoil your interest to read. Try to undersand the context. If you opt for looking up the unkwon words later it's much better. Also take advantage of this and practice your pronunciation reading, whatever it is, in a loud tone. I've learned a lot from reading and I still do.