EnglishClub
Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub

50 kids in my class ... help!

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Susan

50 kids in my class ... help!

Unread postby sandra1 » Wed May 10, 2006 2:23 pm

Hi there! I'm a non professional English teach (foreign).

I have 50 kids (5th grade) in a class. It's difficoult to find games that will make them learn... without making a huge mess (otherwise then it's too difficoult to have their attention back)...

Furthermore, the class time is two periods of 35 minutes each. I have to use "NEW CONCEPT ENGLISH" (L. G. ALexander) and for each period I have to teach two lessons!!!!!
How can I find the time to teach children new words, read the text, do the excercises and ... make them have fun?!!!

I'm so disappointed in this period because neither me nor them are having fun
:(

p.s. sorry, but I really don't like the text book I'm forced to use
sandra1

Unread postby Nasier » Sun May 14, 2006 1:20 am

Dear Sandra 1,