EnglishClub
Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub

How can I motivate students? Why can't they speak English?

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Susan

Should I have reacted differently after I discovered one of my students couldn't speak in a normal conversation?

Yes.
100%
No.
No votes
There is nothing more you could do.
No votes

Total votes : 2

How can I motivate students? Why can't they speak English?

Unread postby wxyrty » Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:19 pm

To all my colleague:

I am a college student and a part time ESL teacher. My students are older people whose age range from 40 to 60+. Many of them attend my class regularly once a week. All my students wants to learn English but many of them have been in ESL class for over two years. To the best of my knowledge, they all study in other schools prior coming to my course for many years and they all have accumalted over 500+ english vocabularies and they show an understanding of English grammar when it is on paper. (I tested them with basic grammar and vocabularies and was amazed by how well they did, I also tested their listening comprehensions and gave them oral examinations. They performed adequatly and even became bored of my lectures and asked me for more advance materials)

So, Why can't they speak English when they are with other people? Is there something wrong with my lessons?