EnglishClub
Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub

Dealing

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Susan

Dealing

Unread postby EveInMadrid » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:00 pm

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting on one of these type of forums and I'm hoping for some advice. I've been teaching in Madrid now for over 4 years in companies mainly and I'm very lucky to say that I've got on and liked all of my students over the 4 years - until I started a new class at the beginning of the month.

Basically I have one student in the class who's rude to me. If I ask him to give some input or answer a question, for example, he'll refuse or give monosyllabic answers with his arms crossed looking bored and then proceed to sit in the class looking completely disinterested while I teach. It's incredibly off-putting. The lack of contribution I can handle but the rudeness, I can't. I try my best to make the classes as enjoyable as possible and I get the impression the rest of the students like the classes and I've always had very good feedback from students over the years, so I'm really stumped with this guy.

Last week, I translated a word into Spanish (I have a decent level of the language but make mistakes like most learners) and he imitated my pronunciation of the word while laughing and talking in the L1. I lost the plot and asked him how he'd like it if I came into class and laughed at his pronunciation of English and that I'm a learner of the language just like him. I tried to keep my cool but I think I went very close to crossing the line. The episode left me very flustered for the rest of the class as I don't expect confrontation in a class of adults in a company. I feel like he's trying to test me.