EnglishClub
Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub

Is this correct? "to do" in this sentence?

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Susan

Is this correct? "to do" in this sentence?

Unread postby MariaLisette » Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:37 am

Hey everybody, I am an ESL teacher from the USA living in Mexico. I recently started training here at a new school and I found something odd in one of their textbooks. The lesson topic is frequency adverbs. Here is what it says in the manual: "How often does he do exercise?" Shouldn't it be, "How often does he exercise?" OR "How often does he do exercises?" The answer to the question is, " He doesn't do exercise very often." Shouldn't it be, "He doesn't exercise very often." OR He doesn't do exercises very often."??? I just want to make sure that the textbook is not giving the students the incorrect structure/verb. I really think that, "How often does he exercise? He doesn't exercise very often." is the best, but I want to make sure. Any help would be appreciated especially if you can provide a grammar text reference so that I can have some written proof if I am correct. Anyway, thanks in advance and take care! :) Maria Lisette
MariaLisette

It is a verb and also a noun.

Unread postby meylenlau » Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:58 am

Hi,

1.How often does he exercise? and
2.How often does he do exercise?
Both sentences are correct.
exercise is a verb and also a noun
In the first sentence it is a verb while in the second sentence it is a noun.
So the meaning in No. 1 equlvalent to:
excercise (v)=perform/do physical activity
while No. 2 equivelent to:
exercise (n)=physical activity
So in my opinion,they are just different ways of expressions that has the same meaning.
Bye .
meylenlau
Busy Member
Busy Member

both are correct

Unread postby calla » Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:53 am

We would use both of those where I am from, and they are equally correct. We do exercise and we exercise.
Hope that helps.
calla