EnglishClub
Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub

watching movies to learn English

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Susan

watching movies to learn English

Unread postby robby » Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:27 pm

Hi all,

I have few questions regarding showing movies in ESL classes.
1) How effective is it in their learning and how often?
2) what kind of movies?
3) Is it important for them to understand everything or just the main idea?
4) should we preteach the new vocab?
I like to know your ideas and any past experience you might have.
Thanks
robby

Unread postby mjaime » Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:32 pm

Well, I'm not a teacher =) in fact I'm a student and I have one year studying this languaje... I have some troubles with me hearing so I asked for advices and a friend told me "watch Cartoon Movies because on them the characters speak slower and also they speak more appropriately" how often? I see them whenever I can, maybe once at week, that's what I do.
mjaime

Movies

Unread postby chava61 » Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:37 pm

I think for intermediate level students using movies that have closed captions can have an advantage to help with comprehension.
Also it is important to choose a movie that the accents are clear.
chava61

Unread postby Heads Up Eng » Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 pm

Movies are a time waster, in my opinion. Here's why:

1. They are too long. TV programs, or snippets of programs or movies, work better to express grammar, vocab, or a talking point. Five or ten minutes usually contain all that you need for a lesson or activity.

2. In a larger class, some students will have little to no interest in the movie. Therefore, you've wasted two hours of their time. Even if you show 30 minutes a day, it still comes down to a cumulative two hours.