EnglishClub
Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub

How many tenses are there in the English language?

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Susan

How many tenses are there in the English language?

Unread postby Brutnell210 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:05 pm

I have been searching the Internet for an answer to this & the US web sites appear to have missed the point completely! I reckon that there are between 20 - 30 tenses - has anybody got a precise answer with, hopefully, a list.
I am a TEFL teacher in Deal, Kent & take students on a homestay basis. Thanks in advance! Tony Smith.
Brutnell210

Verb tenses

Unread postby pthompson4 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:37 pm

I only know 3; past, present, and future, BUT you will love this chart.
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/ ... sverb.html
8)
Considering TESOL somewhere
pthompson4
Prolific Member
Prolific Member

Unread postby Kevin Vosper » Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:13 am

Dear Tony

There are in fact only two tenses in the English language (it's inportant not to confuse "tense" and "time" the two are not the same) if by tense you mean a change in word endings which is how linguists define "tense." English uses the "ed" ending to show the past and no ending to show the present.However, as noted above tense and time are not the same and as David Crystal writes in "Rediscover Grammar:"

"Present and past tenses can be used to refer to all parts of the time line:

THE MEANINGS OF THE PRESENT TENSE

Three present tense uses refer to present time.

1) The state present is used for timeless statements, or 'eternal truths':

Oil floats on water.
Two and two make four.

2) The habitual present is used for repeated events. There is usually an accompanying adverbial of frequency:

I go to town each week.
He drinks a lot.