Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub
English Club : Learn English : Vocabulary : The World

The World

The "world" is also called Earth, earth, Mother Earth, the planet, the globe.

The world essentially consists of three parts:

  • Air
  • Water
  • Land

Geographical Divisions

We can divide the land and water into the following major features:

  • Continents
  • Islands
  • Mountains
  • Oceans and Seas
  • Lakes and Rivers

These features are called "geographical". They are not "man-made". They exist with or without man.

Political Divisions

"Political" divisions are made by man. Politically, we can divide the land into:

  • Countries

On these pages we will look in more detail at:

Countries & Nationality

Terms | Privacy | Contact | Report error

EnglishClub Group EnglishClub EasyEnglish ESLDepot Teflnet

© 1997-2014 EnglishClub