Cambridge English Exams

Cambridge English examinations are known all over the world and are accepted by universities, employers and education authorities in many countries as evidence of the required standards in English. Cambridge English has a wide range of examinations for learners, covering general and/or academic use, business use and young learners.

The Cambridge English examinations shown on this page are amongst the world's best known qualifications for learners of English. Each examination covers the four main language skills - listening, speaking, reading and writing - and assesses the ability to use a variety of structures and functions in authentic situations. Assessment of Cambridge examinations is linked to the Common European Framework.

General English Exams

KET (Key English Test) CEF Level A2
This is an examination that provides an initial learning objective for adolescents and adults, enabling learners to meet their basic communication needs in English. It is the first step on the ladder of the five level Cambridge Main Suite examinations.

PET (Preliminary English Test) CEF Level B1
This is an examination that tests the language skills needed to survive in social and work situations in an English-speaking environment.

FCE (First Certificate in English) CEF Level B2
This is an examination at an intermediate level that requires competence in all the language skills. It is widely recognised in commerce and industry, and by educational institutions in Britain and overseas as proof of language ability at an intermediate level.

CAE (Certificate in Advanced English) CEF Level C1
This is an examination at an advanced level that is suitable for people who require English for professional or study purposes. There is an emphasis on real-world tasks. It is also recognised by the majority of British universities as fulfilling English Language entrance requirements.

CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English) CEF Level C2
This is an examination at an advanced level that is recognised as fulfilling English language requirements by British universities and for business and academic purposes overseas.

Professional English Exams

BEC (Business English Certificates) CEF Levels B1 to C1
These are internationally recognised qualifications that show employers a person's skills for using English in the workplace. There are three different levels: BEC Preliminary, BEC Vantage, BEC Higher

Young Learners English

YLE (Young Learners English) CEF Levels Below A1 to A2
YLE measures how well a child is doing in the skills of listening, speaking and reading and writing. The tests are designed to make learning fun. There are three different levels: Starters, Movers, Flyers

Cambridge are also involved with several other well-known exams, including BULATS and IELTS.

More information about the above and other Cambridge exams may be found on the Cambridge English official website.