Is 'As such' used correctly?

Members help members on grammar, vocab, pronunciation...

Moderator: EC

tamguatlay
Gold Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 3:58 pm
Status: English Learner

Is 'As such' used correctly?

Postby tamguatlay » Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:07 am

Trade and Industry Minister of State Lee Yi Shyan - in response to Member of Parliament Mdm Ho Geok Choo's queries - said Singapore's national productivity data is obtained by aggregating output of industries and dividing it by the workers employed.

As such, the ministry is unable to obtain separate productivity measurements for Singaporean and foreign workers, he said.

But is it really not possible to distinguish foreign workforce productivity from that of the local workforce? And if it can be done, should Singapore do it?

Is 'As such' used correctly in the above sentence?

Many thanks.

Miss Tam

Buddhaheart
Silver Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:02 am
Location: Vancouver Canada

Re: Is 'As such' used correctly?

Postby Buddhaheart » Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:46 am

I believe “as such” used here as an adverb to qualify the verb “is”, which means as being what is indicated or in itself, is correct.

User avatar
sweethuman
Rough Diamond Member
Posts: 1144
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 7:18 am
Status: Other
Contact:

Re: Is 'As such' used correctly?

Postby sweethuman » Wed May 25, 2011 6:13 am

ALAN, please reply? :?:


Return to “Help Each Other with English”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests