Ideas for Classroom Games for ESL Teachers

Active teacher (and student) topics are at ESL Forums

Moderator: Joe

SeanLords

Ideas for Classroom Games for ESL Teachers

Unread post by SeanLords »

Hey ya'll!

I have recently returned from teaching English in South Korea and thought I would share a little but about some of the down time activities I used when we had time to spare at the end of a lesson or project.

First I suppose I should start with some background on myself. I graduated with a degree in English Literature and English Secondary Education, so I felt pretty confident on the instruction side of things, but I wasn't really prepared for the "improvisational" component to teaching. After I graduated I got a TEFL from Oxford Seminars and headed over to South Korea where I would spend the next three years of my life.

Now, for the activities I used. I found that a lot of the time, children in South Korea were constantly inundated with learning and studying. While I don't at all criticize this ( I think the American education could learn a few things from their system) I did find that my students tended to enjoy the slight reprieve from instruction with a quick game that still reinforced things we had learned in the classroom.