Teaching children

Active teacher (and student) topics are at ESL Forums

Moderator: Joe

yanmtl

Teaching children

Unread post by yanmtl »

I teach elementary school children 5 to 10 years of age and I am still learning how to teach them and want to get better at it. They often say that you mostly need to use games so the kids don't get bored. I agree when we talk of children of 6 and under but for those who are aged 8 to 10, can read and write well and start seeing more grammar I try to teach them more things make them write and read a lot.
This is where I need some tips, if my 8 years old student persits in not wanting to read or write about any of the exercises that we see together in class should I change my approach or should I persit in making her read and write.

Thank you!
eric_p_m
Prolific Member
Prolific Member

Re: Teaching children

Unread post by eric_p_m »

Dear Yanmtl,

Try asking your students what they would like to write about. Motivation is a key factor to learning a language. Start off asking them what is their favorite animal in the whole wide world or easier still, what is their favorite color. For your older students, ask them to pretend to be a dinosaur and then ask them what is their favorite food and/or color. Then group the strongest dinosaurs together and have them chase after the other students and finally, get to the point where they eat the weaker dinosaurs.

Have your artistic students draw about what happened and your more advanced students should compose a narration about the resulting carnage and destruction of your classroom.

Get the point?

Sincerely,

Eric Paul Monroe

http://www.eric-tesol.com/
samuel

Unread post by samuel »