Newbie Looking for Advice on Overseas Teaching

For general discussion between ESL teachers.

Moderator: Joe

nicole723

Newbie Looking for Advice on Overseas Teaching

Unread post by nicole723 » Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:37 am

I am new to the ESL teaching arena. I am teaching advanced and hi-intermediate classes at a local university as an adjunct. I have my bachelors in communications, but do not hold a teaching degree or certificate related to ESL of any kind. Basically, I just got lucky and proved I was capable without the formalities. I would like to find a position teaching overseas just for the summer. I think the experience would be beneficial to my overall teaching style. Anyone who is a pro at at teaching ESL overseas: would you mind answering a few questions?

1. Do I need a certificate of any kind to teach overseas or would my current experience be enough?

2. What are the best resources/companies (Web sites) for looking for jobs?

3. Are there any any small appointments during the summer, perhaps just the month of July or for 6-8 weeks?

4. How much pay (in American dollars) am I looking at, do any of them include housing/benefits/plane ticket?

Any and all advice or experiences you may have would be greatly helpful, as I am pretty much clueless when it comes to overseas teaching. I just kind of fell into ESL.. and I love it! I want to eventually pursue my masters, but for now I am just praying I get the undergrad loans paid every month!

ICAL_Pete
Prolific Member
Prolific Member

Unread post by ICAL_Pete » Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:46 pm

Hi Nicole,

I think it would help a lot if you could give us at least a rough idea of where in the world you wish to go. Employment opportunities, pay levels and work conditions, and last but not least requirements in terms of qualifications vary from country to country.

Heads Up Eng
Prolific Member
Prolific Member

Re: Newbie Looking for Advice on Overseas Teaching

Unread post by Heads Up Eng » Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:23 am