EnglishClub Home Learn English Teach English MyEnglishClub
EnglishClub : Learn English : Vocabulary : North, South, East & West

Points of the Compass

In addition to the cardinal points of the compass (north, south, east and west) there are intercardinal points (north-east, south-east, south-west, north-west). You can see these in the chart below together with their abbreviations.

Four Points of the Compass

The intercardinal points can be divided into secondary intercardinal points such as: North-NorthEast, East-NorthEast, East-SouthEast etc. These are not shown in the chart above.

Usage - how do we use the words like north, south, south-east etc? >

Get ESL Progress! FREE -
EnglishClub's monthly newsletter

Privacy & Terms | Contact | Report error | Advertise | EasyEnglish

© 1997-2015 EnglishClub